Friday, December 31, 2010

V.A. - A Midnight Christmas Mess (1984)

V.A. - A Midnight Christmas Mess (1984)
[Midnight Records, MIR LP 106]

01. Christmastime Here (Could Never Be Like That) - Wednesday Week
02. On Comet - The Point
03. Christmastime With You - The Cheepskates
04. Here's What I Want on a Christmas Day - Justin Love
05. Christmas Dance - Johnny Rabb
06. Gotta Get Lucky for Xmas - Johnny Rabb
07. Xmas Time (It Sure Doesn't Feel Like It) - The Dogmatics
08. Last Minute Rush - The Cheepskates
09. Merry Christmas - Plan 9
10. Christmas Tyme (Baby) - Yard Trauma
11. Forget It - Nadroj & The Wolrats
12. Schizophrenic X'mas - The Suburban Nightmares
13. Gloria (in Excelsis Deo) - The Tryfles
14. It's Christmas (A Time for Giving) - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
15. Silent Night (J.D.'s Salute to Phil Spector) - Droogs

Other than a few too-pop or rockabilly clunkers on side one, we are left with an excellent '60s-punk type compilation of various contemporary groups. There's killer stuff from YARD TRAUMA,NADROJ & THE WOLRATS (doing the SONICS' "She's Waiting" with new lyrics), CHEEPSKATES, among others. There's even Midnight owner, JD, doing his tribute, à la Phil Specter's Xmas LP, to the season.
 ~ Tim Yohannan (from Maximum Rocknroll #19, November 1984).

Download Link:
V.A. - A Midnight Christmas Mess (1984)


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Looks like good stuff. Thanks for sharing it!