Friday, November 6, 2009

The Happy Dragon Band - The Happy Dragon Band (us 1978)

The Happy Dragon Band - The Happy Dragon Band (us 1978)

Formed: 1978, Detroit, MI, United States

* The Happy Dragon (vocals, synths, guitar, bass, drums, keyboard),
* Tom Carson (vocals, guitar, keyboards),
* Cicely Lonergan (vocals),
* Clem Riccobono (vocals),
* Gary Meisner (guitar),
* Scott Strawbridge (guitar),
* Brian White (guitar),
* Dennis Craner (bass),
* John Fraga (bass),
* Mike deMartino (keyboards),
* John "Bee" Badanjek (drums),
* Ralph Sarafino (drums),
* Mike Orzel (tambourine).

Related Artists:
Detroit, Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels, Phantom's Divine Comedy, Rockets

01. 3-D Free (Tom Court)
02. Positive People (Tom Court)
03. In Flight (Tom Court)
04. A Long Time (Tom Court)
05. Bowling Pin Intro (Tom Court)
06. Lyrics of Love (Tom Court)
07. Disco American (Tom Court)
08. Astro Phunk (Tom Court)
09. Inside The Pyramid (Tom Court)
10. 3-D Free (Electronic) (Tom Court)

Another Radioactive reissued rarity, and possibly one of the best yet. Oooh, we've got a weird one here. Seriously. But very cool we think. Didn't know what to expect from the whimsical band name and front cover artwork, but it wouldn't have been *this* anyway! The first track, "3-D, Free" starts things off pretty freaky with spacey vocal effects and a lethargic reggae beat, with heartfelt lyrics, singing lines like "I saw police shooting rats". It's reprised later at the end of the album in an even more wigged out "electronic" version. This is definitely psychedelic rock music, but also very futuristic for its time (circa 1977-1978), hinting at new wave/punk. With track two, "Positive People", things get even more Devo. And it doesn't get any more normal as it goes. Capt. Beefheart also seems to be at this party... weird weird weird. But these folks have a knack for melody amist the madness.
Having release a little noticed 1974 album for Capitol under the guise of Phantom's Divine Comedy, four years later drummer John Bdanjeck, singer/guitarist Tom Carson, bassist Dennis Craner, keyboardist Mike DeMartino and guitarist Gary Meisner reappeared as The Happy Dragon Band. Released by the small Michigan-based Fiddlers label, anyone expecting to hear another set of faux Doors-inspired psych was bound to be surprised by 1978's "The Happy Dragon Band". Whereas the earlier Phantom LP featured all-original material, here all nine tracks were penned by a Tommy Court. Whoever he was, Court was also credited with production, engineering and direction. Musically the set was a major shocker. Dropping their earlier pseudo-Doors stance, material such as "3-D Free", "In Flight" and the instrumental "Bowling Pin Intro" found the band plunging headlong into outright experimentation. Featuring extended tracks filled with synthesizers, odd sound effects and dazed vocals, the results didn't make for a particularly commercial outting. That said, the album sports a weird, hypnotizing appeal that's worth a couple of spins. Dark, heavy and disturbing, part of the aura may be explained by the liner notes. - "This album is in memory of: my friend Ritchie & my child Ritchie Joe".
~ Internet sources.

Download Links:
...and also...
The Happy Dragon Band - The Happy Dragon Band (us 1978).rar (52.8 MB)


Anonymous said...

This is one is really great, listen it!!!

bobhowe said...

Happy Dragon Band and Phantom's Divine Comedy are not related and John Bdanjek did not play on Phantom's Divine Comedy. Tommy Court is HDB composer's real name and he teaches electronic music and engineering at Wayne State University. He has his own web site and a Youtube channel where you can view his recording processes. Hope this finally puts this myth to bed once and for all.