Sunday, April 11, 2010

The Contents Are - Through You (us 1967)

The Contents Are - Through You (us 1967) (Germany, Shadoks, Catalogue #090)

A CD edition of MEGA-RARE 1967 US ultimate garage/folk-rock/psych holy grail rarity, (only 100 copies pressed of the original) by Iowa band The Contents Are. A monster album and an Acid Archives favourite. This CD edition also includes 4 non-LP bonus tracks from their two 7" single releases.

Formed: Davenport, IA, United States

* Dave Neumann (guitar, vocals),
* Paul Staack (drums, vocals),
* Larry Smith (bass, vocals),
* Craig Hute (lead guitar, vocals)

01. Country Roads
02. The Dream Of My Predictions
03. Uni-Love
04. Peace At Last
05. In Trouble
06. No Chance To Choose
07. Tonight In Venice
08. Unconcerned
09. Don't Take My Freedom
10. Recurring Changes
11. No Need To Be Blamed
12. If You're Relaxing
13. Brother Abbot
14. I Don't Know
15. Direction Of Mind
16. Future Days17. New Mexico

'The Contents Are were one of many sixties bands from the Quad City's fertile garage music scene. With labels labels/studios like Fredlo and IGL, it was a very healthy regional area for bands with an unusually high per capita for record releases. Up until the recent discovery of an original copy a couple of years ago, it was only rumored to exist and remained an enigma with hardcore record collectors. In most cases, the Contents Are were only known by astute collectors for their two excellent 45 releases (non-LP). Well the mystery is over, and here's your chance to hear one of the rarest & greatest garage records ever recorded. Here's the story about the record: Four high school seniors from Iowa decide to release an album of all original tunes, and was exclusively sold at their live shows. Originally released on the Rok label (a subsidiary of the already obscure Fredlo label) in 1967 with only 100 copies pressed. These guys were not your typical garage band - talented players, professional grade vocalists and no cover songs!!! Their music is a nice blend of garage rock with hints of hipster folk and early psychedelic influences. As good if not better as other similar top shelf rarities liky Mystery Meat and the Bachs, but no major quantity find making original copies of the Contents Are ten times rarer. Get it or miss it! CD jewel case with 8-page booklet, plus 4 bonus non-LP tracks from singles.''Rumours of a limited demo LP pressing from this renowned Iowa garagey-folkrock band remained unconfirmed until a copy popped up at a 2005 Austin Record Show. Curiosity grew into excitement as the album turned out to feature 13 band originals in a terrific melodic Beatles '65-66 style with a sprinkling of Byrds on top. In other words, an ideal sound for a 'lost' 60s album, reminiscent of the Beauregard Ajax recordings from L.A. Drawing inspiration from the Beatles is usually an indication of both taste and cojones, and the Contents Are deliver a string of skillfully arranged 3-minute gems from the point where beat and folkrock turn into melodic psychedelia. There's also a hint of an early rural sound a la Buffalo Springfield. Coming out of the Midwest in '67, this is as advanced as H.P. Lovecraft, and thus of substantial historical value, in addition to the sheer listening pleasure. The band was still at high school when they cut this LP, which is remarkably advanced for the time and place. Only a few copies are known to exist.'
~ Acid Archives
The Through You lp was little more than rumor til a copy mysteriously appeared at a 2005 Austin record show. Contents Are were a garage folk-rock band from Quad City, Iowa that released two good 45’s and this 1967 private press album. It’s remarkable that the band were still in high school when they cut this lp as both the lyrics and musicianship are quite advanced.
In true DIY fashion the band pressed 100 copies of Through You and gave the lp’s away to eager fans who came to Contents Are live events. It’s a solid record to say the least, with influences coming from early Buffalo Springfield, the Byrds and Rubber Soul era Beatles. Through You is full of good, 3 minute pop songs and it’s the kind of record that saw the beat/garage and folk-rock sounds merge. One song, Peace At Last, has complex lyrics and a wonderful mid period Beatles-like chorus. No Chance To Choose is another excellent, dark folk-rocker that strongly recalls John Lennon’s Rubber Soul compositions and hints at psychedelia. There are a few hard rocking tracks such as the opening, fuzzy Country Roads but most of this record is predominately folk-rock. Other good standouts are the folk-rock downers Dream Of My Predictions and Reccuring Changes, which feel like lost Gene Clark compositions in lyrical content and sound.
For many the highlight was In Trouble. This track is notable for beautiful back porch harmonies, jangly guitar and a distinct, rural Buffalo Springfield sound. It’s the kind of song that makes searching for private press records worth all the trouble and grief. Through You’s sound quality is a little muddy and probably will not be of interest to those who like clean, sparkling major label glitz. But to those wanting to explore buried local sounds, this is a great record that’s bound to grow on you.
~ Internet Source.

Download Links:

...and also...
The Contents Are - Through You (us 1967).rar (98.36 MB)


Paisley Panties said...

Don't believe the hype--this is a very mediocre record.

BIG STANKY said...

believe fukin hype.... lyrics from 'no chance to choose'....."ask the cats bout what they think of flowers and leaves and grass and trees...oh better tell them...that things are getting no better child for you....things are no better...the choices made leave no chance to choose...."

believe the fukin hype, this is some creepy psyche, true gem

Anonymous said...

I joined The Contents Are after Larry Smith left the band. There is some information about them on my website which is about the band I joined after leaving TCA.

Mick Orton