Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Dear Mr. Time - Grandfather (uk 1970)

Dear Mr. Time - Grandfather (uk 1970)

Formed: United Kingdom

* Chris Baker (guitar, vocals),
* John Clements (drums, percussion),
* Barry Everitt (vocals, organ, piano, harpsichord),
* Dave Sewell (bass, vocals),
* Jim Sturgeon (saxophone, flute, guitar, vocals)

01. Birth - The Beginning 4:01
02. Out of Time 4:30
03. Make Your Peace 5:23
04. Your's Claudia 2:54
05. Prelude (To "Your Country Needs You?") 3:01
06. Your Country Needs You? 3:40
07. A Dawning Moonshine 3:50
08. Years and Fortunes 4:09
09. A Prayer For Her 2:57
10. Light Up a Light 3:26
11. On a Lonely Night 4:19
12. Grandfather 2:44

Dear Mr Time were an obscure British outfit who straddled the late-period psych/early prog divide with their sole album, a concept piece entitled Grandfather. It (loosely, of course, in true concept album style) tells the story of one man's life from his birth around the turn of the century to his own death, as recounted by his grandson. Birth - The Beginning makes for a pastoral enough start, but the pace picks up quickly enough as the story races towards the protagonist's experiences as a soldier in the trenches. The rest of the album veers between acoustic and electric, but quality's maintained throughout, avoiding the 'only two or three decent tracks' syndrome. On reflection, the concept actually owes a little to the Pretty Things' seminal SF Sorrow, but it's a very different album and, let's face it, a fairly universal subject.No-one's credited with Mellotron, so I'll assume keyboard player Barry Everitt was responsible for the excellent MkII strings on Prelude (To Your Country Needs You?) and the rather shorter part in closer Grandfather. Pity they didn't use it more, but there you go. Incidentally, the cellos in Prelude are real.All in all, this is really rather good, and undeservedly obscure, especially when you consider some of the third-rate stuff that's been available for years. The CD appears to've been pressed from a vinyl copy, but the surface noise isn't too bad, and rather a slightly crackly copy than none at all! A welcome addition to the field of UK psych/prog reissues, with a couple of good 'Tron tracks. Assuming you can find it, buy.
~ By
First-ever official reissue of Essex-based band Dear Mr. Time's highly-regarded and much sought-after psych/prog concept album Grandfather. Heavily influenced by the Moody Blues and early King Crimson, Grandfather was recorded in mid-1970 and issued by the tiny Square Records in February 1971, but was only pressed in a total quantity of 1000 copies. This definitive release is taken from the original master tapes, and adds five superb home demos recorded around the same time as the album by guitarist and chief songwriter Chris Baker. It tells the group's story for the first time, and includes many previously unpublished photographs." Includes a 16-page booklet.
~ By
This is an obscure progressive concept album which now interests some collectors. It is similar at times to The Moody Blues, and the project featured comment on the life of one man from the turn of the century until the time of his death.. The 45 Prayer For Her was a track from the album.
~ from Tapestry of Delights.
Reminiscent of the Moody Blues..... light, gentle english soft rock of a very easygoing kind. The rear cover depicts a bunch of long-haired stack-heeled polite groovers who drove trucks in the day and worked in the post-office, lolling about on a sunny day in Hyde Park or Kensington Palace Gardens, with a bigger bunch of Chelsea Pensioners looking on in amiable puzzlement at these rockin fellahs. Really quite charming in a simple way, like me. I own only a handful of rare Vinyl, this is a copy i got very cheap because its covered in scratches and virtually unplayable - this makes it sound even more of a strange time-capsule of that dim and distant infinitessimally small sunny day on the rear cover. I only played it once.
~ By Mykepsych (RYM).

Download Links:

Shorter version:

...and also...
Dear Mr. Time - Grandfather (uk 1970).rar (61.16 MB)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Thanx a lot!