Monday, December 21, 2009

Amory Kane - Just To Be There (us/uk 1970)

Amory Kane - Just to Be There (us/uk 1970, extremely rare Hippy-folk lp)

* Amory Kane: guitar, vocals
* Dave Pegg: bass
* Ned Balen: drums

01. Evolution
02. Llanstephan Hill
03. Four Ravens
04. Golden Laces.
05. Get Together
06. After Vytas Leaves
07. Childhood's End
08. The Inbetween Man
09. The Hitchhiker's Song
10. Tenderly Stooping Low

Though American, Amory Kane was based in the U.K. when he recorded this, his second album; Fairport Convention bassist Dave Pegg, in fact, is one of the accompanists. It's a somewhat drifting, laid-back singer/songwriter effort that doesn't strike out with much force or distinction. There's a bit of Donovan-like wistfulness, as well as something of a utopian hippie-era brotherhood feel à la "Get Together," which is in fact covered for one of the LP's tracks. But the tunes are on the bland side, and the songs sometimes have an awkward wordiness. Bits of pastoral period psychedelic touches float around the arrangements, like ghostly wind noises, hand percussion, and eerily reverbed plucks, scrapes, and licks. Even by the lowered expectations folk-rock-psychedelic collectors might bring to very obscure records such as this, however, it isn't anything special. (?)
~ by Richie Unterberger, All Music Guide.

Download Links:

... and also...
Amory Kane - Just To Be There (us-uk 1970, extremely rare Hippy-folk lp).rar (60.25 MB)

1 comment:

Sotiris said...

Δημήτρη χαίρε! Αν και θα τα πούμε και δια ζώσης - ελπίζω-, να σου υπενθυμίσω για να "ζηλέψεις" πως το καλοκαίρι ο Dave Pegg έπαιξε εδω στην Κέρκυρα, στο φεστιβάλ του Αη Γιάννη, μαζί με άλλα μέλη των Fairport Convention, με το σχήμα The Dylan Project...
(Απίστευτοι τύποι)