Sunday, December 27, 2009

Purpose - The Purpose Is the Blues..... (us 1968)

Purpose - The Purpose Is the Blues..... (us 1968, ABC Lp, ABCS 662)

* John-John McDuffy (organ, piano, vocals),
* Fluffer Hirsch (guitar),
* Johnny Mitchell (alto sax, vocals),
* Sam Wright (bass),
* “Chocolate" Wright (drums).

01. Dustcracks, Bugs And Roaches
02. Doin' The Everything
03. Give In
04. Life Of Love
05. Jump Up
06. Hippie Chick
07. Hog For You Baby
08. Nosey, Nosey People
09. Forgive Me
10. I Feel It

Produced by the legendary Tom Wilson when he launched his Raputin Productions in 1968 that included such bands as Fraternity Of Man, Ill Wind, and Bagattelle, this one somehow was lost in the shuffle, an obscure funky rockin' bluesy combo, with an integrated lineup, and instrumentation that includes organ, guitar, bass, and drums. The tracks are all originals, with a funky feel to them, and some good grooves on the best tracks.The lead singer's in kind of an Eric Burdon mode, but on the groovers, this comes off as sort of a mod soul/beat group sound, which gives the cuts a great A-Go-Go beat.
~ (Dusty Groove).

Download Links:

...and also...


...and also...
Purpose - The Purpose Is the Blues..... (us 1968).rar (46.23 MB)

1 comment:

Danny Flam said...

Thanks a bunch for putting up 'Purpose'. Great stuff. I followed the link from WFMU's Motherlode

I tweeted your post and will make sure to delete freebies and purchase the actual album.

Thanks again.