Thursday, January 7, 2010

V.A. - Soft Sounds For Gentle People Vol.1

V.A. - Soft Sounds for Gentle People Vol.1

01. Moorpark Intersection - I Think I'll Just Go and Find Me a Flower
02. Avant Garde - Naturally Stoned
03. Jim and Dale - Past the State of Mind
04. Stained Glass - My Buddy Sin
05. Pleasure Fair - Today
06. Hyle King Movement - Flower Smile
07. Brigadune - I'll Cry Out from My Grave (God I'm Sorry)
08. Deep Six - C'mon Baby (Blow Your Mind)
09. Paper Fortress - Sleepy Hollow People
10. Serendipity Singers - Love Is a State of Mind
11. Thorinshield - Brave New World
12. Lewis and Clark Expedition - Blue Revelations
13. Marcus - Grains of Sand
14. Stone Country - Mantra
15. Parade - A.C.D.C.
16. Rich Kids - Plastic Flowers
17. Peppermint Trolley Company - 9 O'Clock Business Man
18. Harper and Rowe - Here Comes Yesterday Again
19. Fun and Games - It Must Have Been the Wind
20. Fireballs - Groovy Motions
21. Underground Sunshine - Take Me, Break Me
22. Fargo - Cross with No Name
23. Appletree Theater - You're the Biggest Thing in My Life

Subtitled "Far-out and beautiful tracks from California and beyond 1966-1971," Soft Sounds for Gentle People scours the nooks and crannies of the sunshine pop archives to unearth nearly two dozen singles and album cuts long forgotten by all but the most rabid collectors. Although there's a strong psychedelic dimension to the material -- nothing here would seem out of place in the Nuggets series -- the radiant harmonies and lush orchestral arrangements wonderfully capture the more tranquil side of late-'60s pop; sweet but never syrupy, should-have-been hits like the Pleasure Fair's "Today," the Lewis and Clarke Expedition's "Blue Revelations," and the Moorpark Intersection's David Axelrod-produced "I Think I'll Just Go and Find Me a Flower" sound far fresher and even more contemporary than the overplayed chart hits that dominate oldies radio. Most of the tracks are mastered directly from the original vinyl, and while there are some cracks and pops present in the mix, the overall fidelity is excellent and the liner notes are witty and informative -- all told, a fantastic package, although its legitimacy is questionable.
~ Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide

Download Links:

...and also...
V. A. - Soft Sounds For Gentle People Vol.1.rar (144.84 MB)

No comments: