Saturday, April 11, 2009

The Wizards From Kansas - The Wizards From Kansas (us 1970)

The Wizards From Kansas - The Wizards From Kansas (us 1970)

Formed: United States
Disbanded: 1970

- Robert Joseph Menadier (bass, vocals),
- Marc Evan Caplan (drums, percussion),
- John Paul Coffin (lead guitar),
- Robert Manson Crain (guitar, vocals),
- Harold Earl Pierce (guitar, vocals).

01. High Flying Bird
02. High Mister
03. 912 1/2 Mass
04. Codine
05. Freedom Speech
06. Flyaway Days
07. Misty Mountainside
08. Country Dawn
09. She Rides With Witches

Actually hailing from Kansas, the Wizard’s were an obscure country-influenced outfit whose debut album featured some fine versions of classics from the period, including Buffy St Marie’s Codine, as well as some excellent originals such as Misty Mountainside, Country Dawn and She Rides With Witches. The original five-piece band enjoyed considerable local success, and eventually found themselves playing the Fillmore East, a gig which led to offers of a number of record deals which the group initially declined. However, towards the end of 1969 Mercury Records finally convinced them to sign to the label, and their eponymous first (and only) album was recorded in the summer of 1970 in San Francisco. During the recording of the album, several band members decided they would rather play jazz, and duly departed to pursue their interests , leaving Mercury with a newly recorded album and no band to promote it. Mercury lost interest and the album sunk without trace. There is a lot of fine stuff on this album, and the band exhibited a particularly impressive range of tight vocal harmonies . A highly recommended album that is extremely collectable.
~ by Timospsychedelicious.

Download link is:

Filename: The Wizards From Kansas - The Wizards From Kansas (us...rar Size: 85.97 MB

No comments: