Saturday, February 7, 2009

David Mcwilliams - Days of David McWilliams (uk 2001, a compilation of 1967-1969 recordings)

David McWilliams - The Days of David McWilliams (1967-1969 recordings)

Born: July 4, 1945 , Belfast, Co Antrim, United Kingdom
Died: January 8, 2002 // Ballycastle, Co Antrim, United Kingdom

Track Listings:
01. Days Of Pearly Spencer
02. For Josephine
03. Brown Eyed Girl
04. Marlena
05. For A Little Girl
06. Lady Helen Of The Laughing Eyes
07. What's The Matter With Me
08. There's No Lock Upon My Door
09. Tomorrows Like Today
10. Mister Satisfied
11. I Love Susie In The Summer
12. Harlem Lady
13. Letter To My Love
14. City Blues
15. Three O'clock Flamingo Street
16. Redundancy Blues
17. Hiroshima
18. Question Of Identity
19. Time Of Trouble
20. And I'm Free
21. In The Early Hours Of The Morning
22. Born To Ramble

An Irish folk rock artist who in 1967 released three albums of his own material on the Major Minor label. An amazing period of productivity matched by the amazing consistency of quality throughout all the material he wrote and recorded. Musically he backed himself on 6 and 12 string guitar with further arrangements and orchestration provided by the then wunderkind producer Mike Leander. The combination of McWilliams heartfelt lyrics and songstyle with Leanders evocative arrangements of the simple melodies still sound bewitching today.
Biography:David McWilliams was a Belfast born singer-songwriter who gained some acclaim in the late 60s for his hit "The Days Of Pearly Spencer", which was memorable for its distinctive use of distorted vocals in the chorus. Much to McWilliams' frustration the song, which had been getting airplay on the pirate radio stations in the UK, was not playlisted by the BBC, possibly due to the fact that his manager was also a director of pirate station Radio Caroline. As a consequence the song was a huge hit in most of mainland Europe but not in the UK. Not until a faithful cover version by Marc Almond in the early 90s would it finally enter the UK charts.
McWilliams went on to release numerous albums throughout the 70s and 80s and though he enjoyed a sizeable live following throughout Europe, major mainstream success eluded him. In the 1980s he settled in the coastal town of Ballycastle in Northern Ireland, occasionally playing local festivals until his death in 2002.

Download Link:

Filename: David Mcwilliams - The Days of David McWilliams (uk 1...rar Size: 117.69 MB)


bobbysu said...

thank you so much

Anonymous said...

I love you

thank you so much