Thursday, June 1, 2017

Afton - First Day of Summer (us 1977)

Afton - First Day of Summer (us 1977)

Formed: Danville, VA, United States

* Dane "Do Do" Williams (electric guitar, vocals),
* Jim Dooley (keyboards, saxophone, acoustic guitar, vocals),
* Donnie Hughes (bass, vocals),
* Robert Campbell (drums, percussion, vocals),
* Skipper (percussion, vocals),
* Jeff K. Baldwin (string arrangements, keyboards, vocals),
* Mike Ketchum (acoustic guitar, vocals),
* Boo - (banjo).

Label: Lark Records - LRLP 2288
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1977
Genre: Rock
Style: country rock, southern rock

A1 Life Light 5:42
A2 Sara 3:58
A3 Henry 5:13
A4 Summer Night 2:00
B1 Hitchhiking 4:45
B2 Younger Days 3:17
B3 Never Trust a Woman 5:15
B4 On the Way 3:33
Total length: 33:43

From Danville, VA, Afton was Dane Williams - elec. gtr, vocals / Jim Dooley - keyboards, sax, acoust. gtr. / Donnie Hughs - bass, vocals / Robert Campbell - drums, vocals / Skipper - percussion, vocals / Jeff Baldwin - keyboards, arrangements, vocals / Mike Ketchum - acoust. gtr, vocals / Boo - banjo. Their sole album was released in 1977, and is very rare nowadays. It is fairly polished, country flavored southern rock, with a slick vocalist and great guitar on most cuts. Their sound is often reminiscent of The Charlie Daniels Band (if they were any good), and containing elements of Lynard Skynard and Molly Hatchet as well. This record [i]is[i] good, and consistently so. Finally reissued to boot!
~ tymeshifter (rym) Oct 24 2009 3.50 stars.

Download Link:
Afton - First Day of Summer (us 1977)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

More good stuff :-) Thank you! Have a great day!